A Confession… from a Devil’s Advocate

I must confess that I am not much of a social networker. I am having difficulty seeing any great personal (or professional for that matter) value in blogging and other social networking technologies.

I am one of those guys who has a Face-book account, yet only checks it a couple of times a month and hardly ever updates anything. It’s not that I find any of these new technologies cumbersome. They’re like any new software. Once you spend a little time with them, they become quite easy to use.

I suppose it is that I find technologies like ‘Blogs and Face-book to be just like e-mail in that they are one more thing that is ‘added to the plate’. They each become one more item on the daily to-do-list, one more thing that seems to be expected of me each day. Certainly they are ‘sold’ as quick and easy to use, and they can be, but take a week away from your computer, and you’ve got hours of e-mail, Face-book messages, ‘Blog comments, and RSS feeds to catch up on.

Does anyone really need to know that much about me or what I think? In a way, I often think that the person in the room who is talking the most often has the least to say. Perhaps this is the same with Blogging. How important can the information be if I am posting several times a day or week?

Of coarse I am playing a devil’s advocate (slightly) roll with this post, as I have accepted the responsibility of maintaining a blog, and I fully anticipate that I will discover much value to the process of blogging as I continue to blog. I am just trying to spark some debate.

5 Responses

  1. Hey Ryan,

    I have much the same opinion as you — although some of the social networking stuff is great, keeping up with it all takes time which I am not always willing to give. For myself, it’s all a matter of controlling the scope of what I do. Although I use my RSS reader a lot, I try to keep the number of feeds I’m reading to a minimum (unfortunately, it’s nearly doubled since subscribing to all the ECI blogs). Most of the things I do subscribe to are low traffic, but high quality. For me, that’s the key.

    P.S. Ditto on the no patience for updating Facebook. It’s a nice online address book, though…

  2. Ah Ryan, and a debate you shall have, if only because you asked for one!
    I too am new to blogging, thanks to this course. What I found interesting was that when I blogged/journaled for myself, I just wrote. Now that I blog where others will read, I find myself more reflective. What did I do, why did I do it, what did I learn (See Bronwyn Hegarty’s Framework)
    Do I censor my own work? Absolutely, in case someone does read it.
    But I now believe that blogging is important on 2 counts:
    1. You may spark new learning for someone else – the greater good.
    2. You may advance your own learning by “writing it down”.
    What could be better than that?

  3. Ryan, I too agree to some extend, I have always been a man of few words. But, I do enjoy reading blogs much more than responding to them. I too am not the most tech savvy person, maybe in time I will learn to appreciate blogging more.

  4. I, as an associate devil’s advocate, find agreement with what you have said. Sorry for the lack of controversy. However, I am finding as I begin to slowly select a few blogs, the social network bug begins to creep in and I find myself exploring the blog links, read or even add more blogs/sites to my reader, then I find the need to write. But that is just me. I have noticed not many people have replied to blogs this week. It would be an interesting study to see how many blogs are maintained after the class is over.
    When I started blogging in 2005 I did it for the wrong reasons. I didnt write because I felt I had nothing to write about. I think after this class, I will continue that philosophy. I believe it will continue.

  5. I’ll bite.
    As someone who has been blogging regularly for over 3 years, blogging is worth more than my Master degree. It’s the space where I learn. I have conversations, like this one almost every day, either on my own blog or on others. Facebook, is generally pure social, take it or leave it. Blogs, if used right are learning spaces. Once you get it rolling, the learning never stops.

Leave a Reply

