Customized my WordPress Weblogs.

Well it took many hours of frustration, but I was finally able to customize the my WordPress weblog to do what I need it to do.  I have two weblog sites hosted here on wordpress.  This one is my Educational Technology weblog, and the other is my teaching web space.  I have been frustrated that by default, WordPress only allows all posts to go to the same page.  With the help of my friend Trent, I discovered that if you create categories you can publish a blog post to individual or multiple categories.  And using widgets, you can have the categories linked to on the side bar. 

This was exactly what I needed for my teaching weblog, as I needed to post separate posts for each class to keep logs of assignments, activities, and due dates for each class.  Check out the result at http://rflood.wordpress.com.

6 Responses

  1. I have been looking for ways to customoze my blog too, like putting a banner at the top, diiferent graphics, etc. I have a couple of blogs too. Can I administrate these off the one blog site/page? Maybe we can shaow on a Skyp call sometime.

  2. Good to know. I was trying to figure out how to do this as well. I’ve also spent several hours trying to customize my class blog. Still working at it. I will try what you suggested and see if it works. I may be contacting you for guidance. Your blog looks great. I love the pictures. How did you find that header (looks like film)?

  3. Great tip, Ryan. I spent hours – no actually days – customizing my wikispace. While it was helpful to start from a template, I often thought it would have been easier to start from scratch. I share your pain!
    Cindy

  4. I have had similar struggles and are still trying to work at the customizing part. Just setting up a videos section I found hard! Embedding is harder than it looks, some videos seem to embed better than others? I don’t know1

  5. This looks great. I was very impressed at the entire site. Hopefully it will suit your needs . . . seems to be suiting the needs of your parents.

  6. Ryan – this looks awesome. Your students must be hooked within seconds of seeing your blog. I may be tapping on your blog for some help.

Leave a Reply

