Creative Commons in the Classroom.

I stumbled upon information about Creative Commons licenses while researching a non-profit organization called LibriVox that provides free audiobooks from the public domain.  I didn’t immediately see the connection to the classroom.  However, it has since become very clear to me that any time I encourage students to create or post anything that they have created on-line, there seems to be a responsibility (or opportunity) on my part to talk to them about Creative Commons licences, copyright, and the public domain.  I am a Visual Arts Ed., Computer Science, and English teacher.  The common thread for me between these different areas of study is the creative process.  In each of my classes, students are creating, most of the time.  As creative individuals, especially of a generation who have ‘Grown up On-line’, it is very important to have a knowledge of what controls and freedoms can be given to the property that they create. 

More information about Creative Commons licences, the public domain, and copyright can be found here.  I highly recommend watching the short video clip at the bottom of the page.

P.S.:  Check out LibriVox, it has thousands of recorded audiobooks like this one:  The Machine Stops by E.M. Forster
As and English teacher, the whole idea that so much great literature is part of the public domain has really made me stop and rethink some of the things I am doing in my classroom.

One Response

  1. […] Anyway, this title comes from one of this week’s content choices in EC&I 832.  The content for this block was presented as  a choose your own adventure of sorts, and was divided in to three choices:  one on information literacy in a digital world, another – a discussion of multi-literacies, and the third – about legal issues, copyright, and ethics of Internet use.  I browsed through much of the content for each of the three ‘adventures’ and found that each presented great resource about important issues to be considered as educators further implement web technologies in their classrooms.  Choosing the block about copyright and legal issues was relatively a ‘no-brainer’ for me.  This is a topic that I have been following and reflecting for some time. {Here is my original post on the topic.} […]

Leave a Reply

