Sustainability and Well-being…hmmm…

Somewhere along my journey, although from where I can’t remember, I’ve managed to hear the following words of wisdom.  “Although it may often appear otherwise, rest peacefully knowing that everything is working out exactly as it was meant to be.”  Of course, I have paraphrased here, from my memory, but the point is clear.   Every so often things happen seemingly by chance that later appear to have been destined to occur.

As I reflect on the path that has led me to my current study, I get similar feelings of destiny.  How did I come to be a graduate student of educational reform?  How did I become interested in concepts of Sustainability, Well-being, and Hope?  As I reflect on my choices, I get a feeling that there are greater forces at work; that stars are aligning;  and that all things are coming to a point.

I’ve spent great amounts of time and energy over the last year or so contemplating on how I will complete my studies as a graduate student in education curriculum and instruction.  I’ve had to consider my intentions and underlying reasons to complete a Master’s degree all-together.  In the process, I’ve moved away from my original plan to complete a thesis and instead, have been considering project options.  These changes led me to seek out course offerings for this fall semester.  When I came across a course entitled Sustaining Well-being through HOPE (Health, Outdoor and Physical Education), I wasn’t initially sure what to think.  I do recall being intrigued by a couple of words: Well-being and Hope.  Perhaps it was because each of these terms seems rather ambiguous, even somewhat like an open door through which to explore.  And perhaps it is that on some conscious or some subconscious level I have realized that I am in persuit of health and well-being; of my own personal health and well-being (both mental and physical) as well as that of my our world and society; for our students and for my children.

One Response

  1. Ryan . . . great stuff . . . I have just begun to dig into your work. The first thing that jumped out at me was the notion that we “have to change” . . . which caused me to pause and question how we interpret the term.

    No doubt you have heard the phrase “change is not a choice”, however I wonder if the term has lost or even had true significance. What do older or real young people think about the term? Is there a tendency to forget the “lineage” of the universe? Are we “chasing our tails” thinking that where we are will be actually different? Are we not change in actuality? . . . so we just need to get on with life!

    Possibly we might wish to think differently with respect to the notion of change. For instance, just “stop” the change process as we in the “West” tend to understand it. Ken Wibur (2007) The Integral Vision. (Shambahala, Boston) and others have a different take on the concept.

    Some say that we do not have any control over what actually happens; therefore the notion of change is perception only. This idea might be worth exploring through curricula initiatives . . . eh!

    I ramble . . . I will continue to work through your Blog and continue to ponder!

    Talk to you sooner than later.

    GP

Leave a Reply

