Identifying My Current Coordinates

It is without any doubt in my mind that I am on a very significant part of my path of professional development.  It seems like a great time to check the compass and think about my current coordinates.   For anyone interested in educational technologies and their link to pedagogy, the following ‘compasses’ provide great food for professional reflection.   The LoTi Digital Age Framework (The Levels of Teaching Innovation) is a great tool for classroom teachers to measure their implementation, authenticity, and effective use of digital tools and resources in the classroom.  Take a look… the LoTi Digital Age Framework… Where do you see yourself?  The National Education Technology Standards (NETS) has great information for teachers, as well as for administrators, and even for students to determine their position on the map of technological literacy.

Even though I found that I rated much higher on the NETS scale, I have found the LoTi Framework to be most useful in determining my own personal coordinates and helping to chart my course forward.  The LoTi Framework is a spectrum of integration levels of technology in pedagogical practice.  It begins at Level 0 (Non-Use) on one extreme and ends with Level 6 (Refinement) at the other extreme.  Awareness, Exploration, Infusion, Mechanical Integration, Routine Integration, and Expansion make up the middle ground of spectrum.

Although I have found some matches from my own pedagogical practice with levels lower, and some from level higher on the spectrum, I would most accurately chart myself somewhere around Level 4a: Mechanical Integration on the LoTi spectrum.  This is not a terrible place to be.  However, there is room for improvement, and the levels of Routine Integration or Expansion is where I have set my aim.

There are some obstacles that I will need to overcome in order to reach these levels of pedagogical practice.  These higher levels involve engaging students in exploring and solving real-world issues with the use of digital tools.  They involve collaborations that extend beyond the classroom, and students using complex digital resources to demonstrate complex levels of thinking (analysis, synthesis, and evaluation) and deep understanding of content.  These are good goals, for any teacher.   They provide some guidance as I move forward on my pathway to becoming the most effective educator I can possibly be.

4 Responses

  1. Marvelous blog! I’ll probably be citing some of this info in my next paper.

  2. Is the picture of the pathway copyrighted?

Leave a Reply

